Digital Glossary

Your go-to glossary of digital terminology

Every now and then, we wonder what digital terminology means.
(What does that acronym stand for, again?)
Here is a comprehensive list of digital terms at your disposal.
Search for the keyword that you’ve been meaning to look up, and voilà!
Or perhaps you’re new to digital and looking for a quick overview to get you up to speed?
We’ve got you!

Click on any letter to see all the words that start with this letter

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Most searchable categories
🌍What is - 💸Performance Marketing

Category
Letter
💸Performance Marketing
🎯Digital Marketing

Average cost-per-click (Avg. CPC) is the amount you've paid for your ad divided by its total clicks. If your ad receives 2 clicks, one costing $0.20 and one costing $0.40, your average CPC for those clicks is $0.30.

Note that Avg. CPC may at times be higher than Max. CPC. For Hotel Ads, this is typically because the Max. CPC is multiplied by the number of nights in the itinerary. For example, if Max. CPC is set at $2, then the most that a click will cost for a 1-night stay is $2. For a 3-night stay, the most that a click will cost is $6. The Avg. CPC will reflect the full price you pay for each click.

💸Performance Marketing
🎯Digital Marketing

Average cost-per-view (avg. CPV) is the average amount you paid each time someone viewed your video ad. It equals the total cost of all views divided by the total number of views. This differs from maximum CPV, which is the most you're willing to pay for an ad view.

💸Performance Marketing
🎯Digital Marketing

how many external links your page has compared to your main conversion goal.

💸Performance Marketing
🎯Digital Marketing

“Avg. viewable CPM” is the average amount you’ve been charged for 1,000 viewable impressions on Video and Display Network ads.

🚀 Startup

A term used in subscription-based businesses to indicate the amount of revenue that is committed and recurring on an annual basis.
In other words, ARR is the total amount of revenue a company expects to receive from customers who have committed to renewing their subscriptions at the same rate for another year.

⚡Google Ads
💸Performance Marketing
🌍What is

A Google owned program that is used by advertisers to place ads on Google search results pages, on Youtube, and on Google ad network sites. Adwords is the primary platform for PPC advertising.

⚡Google Ads
💸Performance Marketing

are the minimum scores that an advertiser's ad must meet in order to be eligible to appear in a particular auction or ad placement. The Ad Rank threshold is a way for Google to ensure that only high-quality ads that are relevant to the user are shown in the top positions. The higher the Ad Rank threshold, the more competitive the auction and the more difficult it will be for an ad to appear in the top positions. There are no well-define factors that determine the ad-rank thersholds, but here are some factors you may consider (Ad relevance - Landing page experience - Historical performance of the ad and the advertiser - Ad format and targeting - Quality of the ad - Relevance of the ad to the search query - The context of the person's search - The person's search history - The device the person is using - The location and time of the search - The expected impact of assets (formerly extensions) and other ad formats - The competition - The relevance of the ad to the search query - Other relevance and performance factors)

👽 Cognitive Biases

A cognitive bias that refers to the tendency of individuals to favor options that have known outcomes, over options that have uncertain outcomes, even when the uncertain option may have a higher expected value. This bias can affect various aspects of decision-making, such as investment choices, career decisions, or even personal relationships.

Individuals tend to prefer known outcomes because they provide a sense of certainty and security, even if the outcome is not necessarily favorable. This bias can lead to missed opportunities and suboptimal decisions, as the uncertain options may hold greater potential benefits.

One way to overcome ambiguity bias is to gather more information about the uncertain options and consider the potential benefits and risks. Additionally, it can be helpful to consider the potential regret of missing out on a favorable outcome due to the preference for known outcomes.

🤖Programming
🎯Digital Marketing

The area of HTML code containing all of the page information, such as images, tables, text, and hyperlinks.

🎯Digital Marketing

A link to a website saved for later reference in your web browser or computer.

📣Facebook
💸Performance Marketing

An organic post that a marketer pays to show in front of a targeted audience. This type of ad lives on the brand’s page even after the budget caps out.

A boosted post is a Facebook post that you put money behind to increase its reach. Also known as promoted posts, boosted posts differ from Facebook ads in that they start out as organic posts and then get additional paid reach based on your spend. Also, you can launch them directly from your Facebook Page without using Ads Manager. Like Facebook ads, though, boosted posts allow you to target a specific audience and set an exact boost duration and budget.

📈SEO

An automated program that visits websites, sometimes also referred to as a “crawler” or a “spider”. Search Engines like Google uses bots to crawl websites so that they can be ranked and added to search indexes. Spam bots visit websites for nefarious reasons, often showing in Google Analytics as spammy traffic.

💡Marketing 101

refers to a stage of the buyer process funnel. In this stage, leads and about the make the transition into becoming new customers. The customer has determined what their problem is, has looked for a solution, and are very close to buying your product. Some typical steps at this bottom of the funnel stage include a conversation with a sales representative, a demo, or a consultation, depending on what type of product your company has created.

Bottom of the funnel is the last stage in the buying process when your prospects are close to becoming new customers. Messages at this stage usually include a product offer, a product demo, a free consultation, etc.

📊Analytics
🎯Digital Marketing

The percentage of visitors to a website that leave immediately without clicking or interacting with any portion of the page. It often happens that you click on a random link and you end up on a website that you are not interested in anyway. Even though you immediately leave that website, your visit still counts in website analytics. Congratulations, you have just contributed to the bounce rate of that website! In other words, bounce rate is the percentage of visitors that have landed on your website but have not stayed long enough or clicked on other pages.

For example, if 100 people visit a website, and 50 of them immediately leave, the website has a bounce rate of 50%. Websites aim to have as low of a bounce rate as possible, and averages tend to be anywhere between 40-60%.

It's also calculated as the percentage of single-page sessions in which there was no interaction with the page before the visitor leaves the page. A bounced session has a duration of 0 seconds. A high bounce rate generally leads to poor conversion rates

Another aspect of bounce rate is "email bounce rate", it refers to the percentage of emails that are unable to be delivered to a recipient’s inbox. A high email bounce rate may mean that your email lists are not up-to-date and include invalid email addresses. Email bounces are not necessarily bad. There are generally two types of email bounces: hard and soft. A hard bounce is when there is a permanent problem with the address, and the email cannot be delivered. A soft bounce is a temporary issue with the address and may eventually be resolved. If a soft bounce exists for long enough, it is considered a hard bounce.

💡Marketing 101

Brainstorming is a tool for creative ideation and solutions. Brainstorm sessions follow a variety of different techniques, but the key is to gather many ideas and find the best within those.

🎯Digital Marketing

A brand advocate on social media is a customer who posts positive messages, leaves positive reviews, or otherwise supports your brand on social. Brand advocates may also encourage other users to use your products or services through word-of-mouth marketing.

💡Marketing 101
🎯Digital Marketing

An upper-funnel social media objective that is used to serve impressions as efficiently as possible.

Brand awareness is the level of familiarity consumers have with your brand. It’s often considered one of the main goals of social media marketing. It’s also one of the objectives you can select for your Facebook and Instagram ad campaigns in Ads Manager. Brand awareness can be measured through impressions or reach, or more accurately through ad recall lift (an estimation of how many users would remember your brand after seeing the ad).

💸Performance Marketing
🎯Digital Marketing
💡Marketing 101
🌍What is

measures impact of ads on your brand by taking a baseline of your brand’s perception (via a control group), and then testing the brand impact of your ads against key brand metrics

🎯Digital Marketing
🤳TikTok

A marketing feature on TikTok, where users are encouraged to post videos of themselves using a brand’s product or their take on the brand’s challenge.

📈SEO
🧭Website

Links at the top of a web page or in a search result, that better help the user navigate the site. Onsite links often appear near the web page’s title and look something like this: Home > Services > Specific Service.

Breadcrumbs can also be found in search results through specific schema markups. These help users find related pages from the search result listing.

in other words, It's an element on a page or SERP result that shows the navigational trail a user took or could take to reach the page they are on. On a webpage, the trail is a series of links to other pages and is most often located at the top of the page. Example: Home / Shop / Backpacks

⚡Google Ads
💸Performance Marketing

This keyword would trigger your ads if a user searched for this phrase in any order, and with synonyms too (i.e. the keyword ‘womens shoes’ matches to ‘cheap womens shoes’, ‘womens blue shoes’ or ‘ladies shoes’).

💸Performance Marketing
⚡Google Ads
📣Facebook

The budget column shows your campaign's daily budget. If the campaign draws from a shared budget, then the amount in this column reflects the entire shared budget.

It also considered as the maximum amount you're willing to spend on your ad sets or campaigns, on average each day or over the lifetime of your scheduled ad sets or campaigns.

🎯Digital Marketing

Business blogging is just like regular blogging, but with an extra element of marketing strategy! By creating content on a specific field/topic, marketers can increase traffic to their website, then convert that traffic into leads.
By creating more and more blog posts on a given topic/field, your company can become a thought leader, which will drive even more traffic to your site.
In business blogging, the post should be keyword optimized and include some sort of call-to-action (See Call-to-Action).
A call-to-action at the end of a post will provide you useful information that will help you transform traffic into leads, and will provide a metric that can measure how effective the blog is at converting traffic.

🎯Digital Marketing
🏦Business

Information about a business that is listed on websites and platforms such as Yelp, Google My Business, Facebook, LinkedIn, and other similar sites.

📣Facebook
💸Performance Marketing

Facebook Business Manager is a software that helps organizations manage their Pages, ad accounts, and team members. It helps marketers to manage multiple pages and ad accounts in one central location. It serves as a hub to connect a business’s advertising, finances, users, and Pages and allow for easy administration. It also ensures that company data and account access is legally and practically under control of the company instead of an individual user.