Digital Glossary

Your go-to glossary of digital terminology

Every now and then, we wonder what digital terminology means.
(What does that acronym stand for, again?)
Here is a comprehensive list of digital terms at your disposal.
Search for the keyword that you’ve been meaning to look up, and voilà!
Or perhaps you’re new to digital and looking for a quick overview to get you up to speed?
We’ve got you!

Click on any letter to see all the words that start with this letter

A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Most searchable categories
🌍What is - 💸Performance Marketing

Category
Letter
📊Analytics
💸Performance Marketing
💡Marketing 101
🌍What is
🎯Digital Marketing

Models of how conversion credit is applied to ads or campaigns based on the ways users interact with ads.

It's a method of assigning full or partial value of an action to various touchpoints along the customer journey. There are several different types of attribution models that marketers use such as first-touch, last-touch, time-decay, , position based and multi-touch attribution models.

⚡Google Ads
💸Performance Marketing

A tool that allows you to see all the other domains entering the same Google ad auctions at the campaign, ad group, and keyword level. Additionally, they give you information on how well your ads are performing in comparison to the different advertisers’ domains.

🎯Digital Marketing
💡Marketing 101
🌍What is

A group of people you target your ads to. Your audience on social media is the group of people you’re able to reach with your content. This includes all your followers plus anyone who sees or interacts with your posts in their feed. Growing your social media audience is one of the best ways to spread brand awareness.

📣Facebook
💸Performance Marketing
🌍What is

This is a network of websites, mobile app and mobile web publishers who've been approved by Facebook to show ads in their apps.

👽 Cognitive Biases

We trust and are more often influenced by the opinions of authority figures.

💸Performance Marketing
⚡Google Ads

Allow you to define conditions to automatically make changes to your campaigns, ad groups, keywords and ads. (i.e. pausing keywords that have received less than 100 clicks and zero conversions).

💡Marketing 101
🌍What is
🎯Digital Marketing

Using computer programs to perform tasks that are repetitive, that would normally be completed by a human. Email programs can use automation to send email messages to people based on certain triggers (new customers, did or did not open the last email, etc). Marketers also use automation to nurture leads by sending relevant content to previous visitors of a website, in an attempt to get the visitor back to convert into a sale.

👽 Cognitive Biases

We rely on automated systems, sometimes trusting too much in the automated correction of actually correct decisions.

👽 Cognitive Biases

Tied to our need for social acceptance, collective beliefs gain more plausibility through public repetition.

👽 Cognitive Biases

We rely on immediate examples that come to mind while making judgments.

🌍What is
🎯Digital Marketing

Your social media avatar, also known as your profile picture, is a small image that represents you on a social network. It can be a real photo of you, a corporate logo, or anything you want your followers to identify as ‘you’ on social.

💸Performance Marketing
🎯Digital Marketing

It is the average amount you've paid per interaction.

How it works: This amount is the total cost of your ads divided by the total number of interactions.

Example: If there are two interactions with your ad, one costing $0.30 and one costing $0.40, your average cost for those interactions is $0.35.

💸Performance Marketing
🎯Digital Marketing

The average price an advertiser pays when a user clicks on their ad.

💸Performance Marketing
🎯Digital Marketing

The average amount of money spent to generate each conversion. This is calculated by dividing the total cost of advertising during a period of time by the total number of conversions over the same period of time.

💸Performance Marketing
🎯Digital Marketing

The average cost for every 1000 impressions that are received. This is measured by dividing the total cost of advertising by the number of impressions then multiplying by 1000.

📊Analytics
📈SEO
🌍What is

Refers to the average position that an ad appears in search results when that keyword is searched. For example, an average position of 1.4 means that an ad usually appears between the 1st and 2rd positions.

💸Performance Marketing
🎯Digital Marketing

The value amount of money (typically revenue) that customers spend per visit.

🛒 E-Commerce

When a user adds a product to the online shopping cart of an e-commerce site but doesn’t proceed to checkout and complete the purchase.
Users may abandon because they aren’t ready to buy or they are using their cart as more of a "wish list" as they shop around and compare prices.

⚡Google Ads
💸Performance Marketing

A metric in Google Adwords that helps advertisers understand where, on average, their ads are showing in Google search results pages. There are usually 4 available ad slots at the top of a search result page (where 1 is the first ad, 2 is the second ad, etc), so for the best results advertisers typically want an average position between 1-4. Average position 5+ indicates that your ads are showing at the bottom of the search results page.

📊Analytics
🎯Digital Marketing

Average response time is a social customer service metric. It is the average time it takes a brand to reply to questions or complaints on social media. Consumer expectations of social customer support response times have become more and more demanding in recent years, with 42% of customers now expecting a response within 60 minutes.

📊Analytics
🎯Digital Marketing

“Average session duration” is the total duration of all sessions (in seconds) divided by the number of sessions. You can use this metric to measure visitor quality. This metric is imported from your Google Analytics accounts and is calculated based only on sessions that originated from Google Ads clicks.

If you don't see data in this column, your accounts might not be linked properly or there might be no data for the data range you’ve selected (Google Analytics data is not available for dates before July 1, 2011).

💸Performance Marketing
🎯Digital Marketing
⚡Google Ads

Average target CPA is the average target that your bid strategy optimized for over the selected time period.

This average includes device bid adjustments, ad group target CPAs, and any changes you've made to your strategy target over this time period.

💸Performance Marketing
🎯Digital Marketing
⚡Google Ads

Average target ROAS is the average target that your bid strategy optimized for over the selected time period.

This average includes ad group ROAS targets, and any changes you've made to your strategy target over this time period.

💸Performance Marketing
🎯Digital Marketing

Average cost-per-click (Avg. CPC) is the amount you've paid for your ad divided by its total clicks. If your ad receives 2 clicks, one costing $0.20 and one costing $0.40, your average CPC for those clicks is $0.30.

Note that Avg. CPC may at times be higher than Max. CPC. For Hotel Ads, this is typically because the Max. CPC is multiplied by the number of nights in the itinerary. For example, if Max. CPC is set at $2, then the most that a click will cost for a 1-night stay is $2. For a 3-night stay, the most that a click will cost is $6. The Avg. CPC will reflect the full price you pay for each click.

💸Performance Marketing
🎯Digital Marketing

Average cost-per-view (avg. CPV) is the average amount you paid each time someone viewed your video ad. It equals the total cost of all views divided by the total number of views. This differs from maximum CPV, which is the most you're willing to pay for an ad view.