Every now and then, we wonder what digital terminology means.
(What does that acronym stand for, again?)
Here is a comprehensive list of digital terms at your disposal.
Search for the keyword that you’ve been meaning to look up, and voilà!
Or perhaps you’re new to digital and looking for a quick overview to get you up to speed?
We’ve got you!
Click on any letter to see all the words that start with this letter
a company that provides internet access to customers or subscribers. ISPs typically provide a range of internet connection options, such as broadband, DSL, cable, and satellite, which allow customers to connect to the internet using a variety of devices, including computers, smartphones, and tablets.
ISPs are responsible for maintaining the physical infrastructure, such as cables, routers, and servers, that allow internet traffic to flow between different devices and networks. They also typically provide additional services such as email hosting, domain name registration, and virtual private network (VPN) services.
ISPs may operate on a regional, national, or international level, and may be either public or private companies.
A response (status code) indicates that the server encountered an unexpected condition that prevented it from fulfilling the request.
Success status response code indicates that the request has succeeded.
That mean the Page is working properly
Redirects the web browser to a different location and passes all page authority from the previous page to the new page. It also tells browsers and search engines that a web page or site has been permanently moved to a new location, and includes the address to which the resource has been moved.
301 is also an HTTP status code which signifies that the web page a user is trying to reach has been permanently changed to another page.
Redirects the web browser to a different location but does not pass any page authority. It's also considered as a method of redirecting a visitor from one page to another web page, used for temporary situations only. For permanent redirects, instead use a 301.
302 is also an HTTP status code which indicates that the web page a user is trying to reach has been temporarily moved.
The error message that appears when a visitor tries to go to a web page that does not exist or when a resource does not exist it turns this error code. 404 is also an HTTP status code which signifies that the web page a user is looking for could not be found on the website’s server.
A video view of 2 seconds or more or a swipe up on the ad. and in terms of view time only, it doesn't include the swipe ups.
An API is a way of getting specific information from other applications or websites, which you can use for a variety of different needs. It is similar to a set of tools used for building a software application. The better the tools, the easier it is to make a good product. In the case of an API, the better the API, the easier it is to develop a program.
APIs are programming tools that allow one to extract information and data from another are application or data analytics. Through the use of several rules or commands that the creator of the API has put in place, the API calls upon another’s application and bring you information that you can use in your own product.
An API is a set of building blocks that programmers can use to develop computer programs. As far as social media is concerned, all the major social networks have their own APIs that let programmers create their own software that works with the networks. Third party social media tools such as Falcon rely on social media APIs to integrate with platforms like Facebook.
Total shares of content, organic tagged mentions, branded hashtag use, user-generated content.
Additional information that can be included in paid search ads. Often used to provide more detail and improve a user’s interaction with an advertisement. It's a Google Ads feature that shows additional information in your top placed ads such as,
location and phone number
site links to pages deeper in your website
It's Ad extensions help advertisers create richer, more informative ads that take up more on-page real estate, which generally lead to higher Click Through Rates.
This column shows the number of ad changes, such as adding or deleting an ad, that have been made during your selected date range.
How it works: Click the number to see each change displayed in your change history.
Good to know: Changes made yesterday are displayed after 10am (PST) today.
Models of how conversion credit is applied to ads or campaigns based on the ways users interact with ads.
It's a method of assigning full or partial value of an action to various touchpoints along the customer journey. There are several different types of attribution models that marketers use such as first-touch, last-touch, time-decay, , position based and multi-touch attribution models.
Average target CPA is the average target that your bid strategy optimized for over the selected time period.
This average includes device bid adjustments, ad group target CPAs, and any changes you've made to your strategy target over this time period.
the act of scheduling particular advertisements in order and tailoring your next advertisement according to the user’s actions on the first advertisement, to increase conversions.
Using computer programs to perform tasks that are repetitive, that would normally be completed by a human. Email programs can use automation to send email messages to people based on certain triggers (new customers, did or did not open the last email, etc). Marketers also use automation to nurture leads by sending relevant content to previous visitors of a website, in an attempt to get the visitor back to convert into a sale.
Average cost-per-click (Avg. CPC) is the amount you've paid for your ad divided by its total clicks. If your ad receives 2 clicks, one costing $0.20 and one costing $0.40, your average CPC for those clicks is $0.30.
Note that Avg. CPC may at times be higher than Max. CPC. For Hotel Ads, this is typically because the Max. CPC is multiplied by the number of nights in the itinerary. For example, if Max. CPC is set at $2, then the most that a click will cost for a 1-night stay is $2. For a 3-night stay, the most that a click will cost is $6. The Avg. CPC will reflect the full price you pay for each click.
A cognitive bias that refers to the tendency of individuals to favor options that have known outcomes, over options that have uncertain outcomes, even when the uncertain option may have a higher expected value. This bias can affect various aspects of decision-making, such as investment choices, career decisions, or even personal relationships.
Individuals tend to prefer known outcomes because they provide a sense of certainty and security, even if the outcome is not necessarily favorable. This bias can lead to missed opportunities and suboptimal decisions, as the uncertain options may hold greater potential benefits.
One way to overcome ambiguity bias is to gather more information about the uncertain options and consider the potential benefits and risks. Additionally, it can be helpful to consider the potential regret of missing out on a favorable outcome due to the preference for known outcomes.
We rely heavily on the first piece of information introduced when making decisions.
The method used to decide the cost and placement of digital advertising on certain ad networks. A new ad auction occurs each time an ad is placed on an ad network.
The ability to remove a post from the public feed, but still have it saved on the social media platform.
A metric in Google Adwords that helps advertisers understand where, on average, their ads are showing in Google search results pages. There are usually 4 available ad slots at the top of a search result page (where 1 is the first ad, 2 is the second ad, etc), so for the best results advertisers typically want an average position between 1-4. Average position 5+ indicates that your ads are showing at the bottom of the search results page.
A place for advertisers to create advertising campaigns and select where to show their ads from the available inventory. Google & Facebook are two of the largest ad platforms
A branch of digital marketing focused on strategies and techniques designed to improve visibility of apps in the app store. This can include optimizing the apps meta data with targeted keywords, enhancing app creatives, and more.
A type of audience specifically on Pinterest that is similar in behavior to an existing audience. This is commonly referred to as a “Lookalike” audience on other social channels.