Every now and then, we wonder what digital terminology means.
(What does that acronym stand for, again?)
Here is a comprehensive list of digital terms at your disposal.
Search for the keyword that you’ve been meaning to look up, and voilà!
Or perhaps you’re new to digital and looking for a quick overview to get you up to speed?
We’ve got you!
Click on any letter to see all the words that start with this letter
A type of advertisement used on mobile devices that allows the user to click on the advertisement to directly call the business rather than have to first visit the business website or dial the business phone number themselves.
An ad feature that allows advertisers to include additional information about their businesses and offering to their ads. In the case of call extensions, this additional information is your business phone number.
An extension that enables you to add more text to your ad to spotlight free shipping, discounts, price matching and more. Callout extensions are similar to sitelinks, but without the links.
The part of an advertising message/phrase that encourages a user to take an action. (i.e. “sign-up”, “buy now”, “call now”, “subscribe”, “learn more”, and “install now”)
Regarding to website, a call-to-action, in the context of the empowered marketer, refers to any link/text that encourages site visitors to visit your landing page and engage in an action like filling out a form to get a premium offer such as a free ebook, white paper, etc.
Every successful business blog post needs some sort of call-to-action to help convert readers into leads. An example of a call-to-action would be the banner image on this very page!
A phone number on a website that is used for tracking purposes, such as to determine how consumers found the business or their reason for calling.
An ad format that includes the phone number as the headline and is shown to people on mobile devices. When people click on the ad they can call you directly, rather than clicking through to your website.
A series of advertising messages that share a theme, and market a product or service. In the context of digital marketing, campaigns can be run through search and display network advertising platforms (i.e. Google, Bing), social media, email, or other online platforms. Campaigns can also refer to a comprehensive digital marketing strategy or project. It's a collection of ad groups or ad sets centered around a common goal.
Campaigns are also specific marketing activities to drive engagement, conversions, traffic or revenue, that tie in with the company/brand/organisation’s overall goals.
Allows Facebook to use the campaign budget and distribute it automatically to the top performing ad sets. It's automatically manages your campaign budget across ad sets to get you the overall best results
an adjustable limit on the overall amount your ad campaign can spend.
Campaign types determine where customers see your ads and the settings and options available to you.
CASL is a Canadian law that was passed in 2014 that requires that companies receive consent from potential recipients before sending any form of “commercial activity” to them. This “commercial activity” covers emails, texts, instant messages, etc.
An HTML element that is used to avoid duplicate content problems by telling search engines which page of content is the preferred version.
It also can be explained as a piece of code that is added into the html head of a webpage to indicate to Google whether a piece of content is original or duplicated from somewhere else. Original content should canonical to itself, and content taken from other places should point the canonical to the original source URL. Canonicals can also be used to avoid duplicate content issues within a website.
a challenge response test that determines whether a user is human or an automated bot. The captcha must be filled out for the form to be submitted, to prevent spam or other unwanted data through online forms.
Stands for “Cascading Style Sheets”. CSS is a document of code that tells the website’s HTML how it should appear on screen. CSS is a time saving document for web designers, as they can style batched-sections of HTML code, rather than styling individual lines of code one-at-a-time.
A particular mechanism for delivering messages; a business’s message is delivered via one or more marketing channels such as email, social media, paid search, programmatic, etc.
In Google Analytics, the Channel refers to the general group of sources that directed a user to a website. There are both default channels built into Google Analytics, such as social, organic, and direct, as well as the option to create custom channels.
shows the number of people who initiated a conversation with your business after seeing your message extension. This is calculated by the number of chats divided by the number of message impressions that showed with a Google forwarding number.
a software application that processes the text presented to them (usually over Facebook messenger or a website popup) and responds according to a set of rules or specific commands for the purposes of simulating a conversation with human users. This computer program used to simulate a chat or conversation via either text or voice. Chatbots are often used to help users find frequently requested information and enhance the user experience by providing 24/7 connectivity and support
A chatbot is an artificial intelligence program that can automate customer interactions for a company. Chatbots can be implemented on a number of social messaging apps, from Facebook Messenger to Slack. They can provide customer service, answer questions, and even set up appointments automatically.
This is the metric that comes in handy when you want to find out how many customers your business retains and at what value. To find out your churn rate, divide the number of customers you lose within a specific timeframe to the total number you had at the beginning of that period.
A churn rate refers to the metric that measures how many customers your company retains, and what the value of those customers are. To calculate churn rate you take the number of customers that you lost during a certain period, and divide that by the total number of customers that you had at the beginning of that period.
For example, if at the beginning of December you had 500 customers, and by the end of December, you have 400 customers, that churn rate can be calculated by the following: (500-400)/500 = 20%. That’s really high! The lower the churn rate for your company is, the better! If your company is a recurring revenue company, having a low churn rate is crucial.
There are two types of clicks: Organic and Paid
Organic: Recorded when a user clicks on an organic search result.
Paid: When a user clicks on a Paid Search ad within the search results. The advertiser only accrues costs within the Search Engine when a user clicks on their ads.
The metric counts multiple types of clicks on your ad, including certain types of interactions with the ad container, links to other destinations, and links to expanded ad experiences. It includes:
A Google Ads metric which notes the percentage of clicks your ads received out of the estimated total number of clicks your ads were eligible to receive.
How often your product is clicked depends on your ads' targeting settings, budget, approval statuses, bids, and the quality of your product data.
Clickthrough Rate is the number of clicks an ad receives divided by the number of times that ad has appeared in a given time. CTR = # of Clicks / # of Impressions.
Clickthrough rate (CTR) ia the ratio of how many times an advertisement was clicked on, versus how many times it was shown which can help you understand the effectiveness of your ad.
Also known to be The number of clicks received divided by the number of impressions received expressed as a percentage.
For example if you have 5 clicks and 1000 impressions, then your CTR is 0.5%.This can also be thought of as the average likelihood that a user will click on your ad or listing after seeing it. It can be helpful in determining the quality of a listing or ad.
This ratio can be useful when determining whether the messaging matches what the consumer is searching for, and if it resonates with them. A higher click-through-rate means more engagement, which generally leads to more quality conversions.
On social media, the clickthrough rate is the percentage of people that see your post who click on it. What counts as a click and what counts as ‘seeing your post’ vary by social network. On Facebook, CTR is equal to (link clicks / post impressions) x 100%.
Clickbait is content that uses manipulative copy to convince users to click on it. Clickbait tends to rely on exaggeration and withholding information to push people into clicking. For example, an article with the headline “Doctors HATE him for using this one WEIRD TRICK…” but just says you should work out regularly is considered clickbait because it compels people click it to learn more while being thin on actual content. Social networks like Facebook consider clickbait spammy and lower its reach accordingly.
something (such as a headline) designed to get attention and make readers want to click on a link. Often it is misrepresenting what the content will entail and the content will under-deliver.
A type of Black Hat SEO in which a website delivers different content to the search engine than it delivers to users.
Closed-Loop Marketing is marketing that relies on data and trends that were gathered through following a visitors journey through the site. By using this data, marketers are better able to determine where the most traffic is being received and shift the strategy accordingly. If done correctly, you will be able to see how successful your marketing investment is in bringing in new business prospects.
An inbound marketing strategy enables a business to engage in closed-loop marketing.
If your goal is figuring out how your inbound marketing drives quantifiable business growth, you might want to take a look at this one. The practice means being able to execute and tie in marketing efforts to bottom-line impact.