Digital Glossary

Your go-to glossary of digital terminology

Every now and then, we wonder what digital terminology means.
(What does that acronym stand for, again?)
Here is a comprehensive list of digital terms at your disposal.
Search for the keyword that you’ve been meaning to look up, and voilà!
Or perhaps you’re new to digital and looking for a quick overview to get you up to speed?
We’ve got you!

Click on any letter to see all the words that start with this letter

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🌍What is - 💸Performance Marketing

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Analytics
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🧭Website
📊Analytics

Success status response code indicates that the request has succeeded.
That mean the Page is working properly

📊Analytics

Total shares of content, organic tagged mentions, branded hashtag use, user-generated content.

📊Analytics
🌍What is
💡Marketing 101
🎯Digital Marketing

Comprises the information gathering, analysis, and reporting process. Data is derived from all online touchpoints (i.e. a website, direct, organic, and paid channels), analyzed for insights and trends, and then delivered for strategic implementation.

A Google platform that allows webmasters to collect statistics and data about website visitors. Google Analytics (sometimes abbreviated as GA) allows webmasters to see where web traffic comes from and how visitors behave once on the site.

Analytics is essentially the discovery and visualization of important patterns in data. In the context of marketing 101 terms, it is looking at the data of one’s metrics (website visitor reports, social, PPC, etc.), noticing trends within that data, and then creating insights that can be utilized when making marketing decisions. Popular analytics services include Google Analytics, Hubspot, Mixpanel, Kapost, and Kissmetrics among many others.

In a social media context, analytics is the process of following metrics on your social media performance and using that data to improve your strategy. For instance, watching your engagement rate over time to see if your posts are becoming more or less compelling to your followers is one way of using social analytics.

📊Analytics

Cumulative social reactions (likes, comments, story replies) that originate on owned content.

📊Analytics
💸Performance Marketing
💡Marketing 101
🌍What is
🎯Digital Marketing

Models of how conversion credit is applied to ads or campaigns based on the ways users interact with ads.

It's a method of assigning full or partial value of an action to various touchpoints along the customer journey. There are several different types of attribution models that marketers use such as first-touch, last-touch, time-decay, , position based and multi-touch attribution models.

📊Analytics
📈SEO
🌍What is

Refers to the average position that an ad appears in search results when that keyword is searched. For example, an average position of 1.4 means that an ad usually appears between the 1st and 2rd positions.

📊Analytics
🎯Digital Marketing

Average response time is a social customer service metric. It is the average time it takes a brand to reply to questions or complaints on social media. Consumer expectations of social customer support response times have become more and more demanding in recent years, with 42% of customers now expecting a response within 60 minutes.

📊Analytics
🎯Digital Marketing

“Average session duration” is the total duration of all sessions (in seconds) divided by the number of sessions. You can use this metric to measure visitor quality. This metric is imported from your Google Analytics accounts and is calculated based only on sessions that originated from Google Ads clicks.

If you don't see data in this column, your accounts might not be linked properly or there might be no data for the data range you’ve selected (Google Analytics data is not available for dates before July 1, 2011).

📊Analytics
🎯Digital Marketing

The percentage of visitors to a website that leave immediately without clicking or interacting with any portion of the page. It often happens that you click on a random link and you end up on a website that you are not interested in anyway. Even though you immediately leave that website, your visit still counts in website analytics. Congratulations, you have just contributed to the bounce rate of that website! In other words, bounce rate is the percentage of visitors that have landed on your website but have not stayed long enough or clicked on other pages.

For example, if 100 people visit a website, and 50 of them immediately leave, the website has a bounce rate of 50%. Websites aim to have as low of a bounce rate as possible, and averages tend to be anywhere between 40-60%.

It's also calculated as the percentage of single-page sessions in which there was no interaction with the page before the visitor leaves the page. A bounced session has a duration of 0 seconds. A high bounce rate generally leads to poor conversion rates

Another aspect of bounce rate is "email bounce rate", it refers to the percentage of emails that are unable to be delivered to a recipient’s inbox. A high email bounce rate may mean that your email lists are not up-to-date and include invalid email addresses. Email bounces are not necessarily bad. There are generally two types of email bounces: hard and soft. A hard bounce is when there is a permanent problem with the address, and the email cannot be delivered. A soft bounce is a temporary issue with the address and may eventually be resolved. If a soft bounce exists for long enough, it is considered a hard bounce.

📊Analytics
🌍What is

A fixed point of reference that is used for comparison purposes.
The purpose of the baseline information is to assess the effect of the program and to compare what happens before and after the program has been implemented.

It's an established level of normalcy for future comparison (i.e. the average or regular number of unique visitors per day to a website)

📊Analytics

A phone number on a website that is used for tracking purposes, such as to determine how consumers found the business or their reason for calling.

📊Analytics
🎯Digital Marketing

A particular mechanism for delivering messages; a business’s message is delivered via one or more marketing channels such as email, social media, paid search, programmatic, etc.

In Google Analytics, the Channel refers to the general group of sources that directed a user to a website. There are both default channels built into Google Analytics, such as social, organic, and direct, as well as the option to create custom channels.

📊Analytics

shows the number of people who initiated a conversation with your business after seeing your message extension. This is calculated by the number of chats divided by the number of message impressions that showed with a Google forwarding number.

🏦Business
📊Analytics

This is the metric that comes in handy when you want to find out how many customers your business retains and at what value. To find out your churn rate, divide the number of customers you lose within a specific timeframe to the total number you had at the beginning of that period.

A churn rate refers to the metric that measures how many customers your company retains, and what the value of those customers are. To calculate churn rate you take the number of customers that you lost during a certain period, and divide that by the total number of customers that you had at the beginning of that period.

For example, if at the beginning of December you had 500 customers, and by the end of December, you have 400 customers, that churn rate can be calculated by the following: (500-400)/500 = 20%. That’s really high! The lower the churn rate for your company is, the better! If your company is a recurring revenue company, having a low churn rate is crucial.

📊Analytics
🎯Digital Marketing

There are two types of clicks: Organic and Paid
Organic: Recorded when a user clicks on an organic search result.
Paid: When a user clicks on a Paid Search ad within the search results. The advertiser only accrues costs within the Search Engine when a user clicks on their ads.

The metric counts multiple types of clicks on your ad, including certain types of interactions with the ad container, links to other destinations, and links to expanded ad experiences. It includes:

  • Link clicks
  • Clicks to the associated business Page profile or profile picture
  • Post reactions (such as likes or loves)
  • Comments or shares
  • Clicks to expand media (such as photos) to full screen
  • Clicks to take actions identified as your campaign objective (such as liking your Page for a Page engagement campaign)
📊Analytics
💸Performance Marketing
🌍What is
💡Marketing 101

Clickthrough Rate is the number of clicks an ad receives divided by the number of times that ad has appeared in a given time. CTR = # of Clicks / # of Impressions.

💸Performance Marketing
📊Analytics

Clickthrough rate (CTR) ia the ratio of how many times an advertisement was clicked on, versus how many times it was shown which can help you understand the effectiveness of your ad.
Also known to be The number of clicks received divided by the number of impressions received expressed as a percentage.
For example if you have 5 clicks and 1000 impressions, then your CTR is 0.5%.This can also be thought of as the average likelihood that a user will click on your ad or listing after seeing it. It can be helpful in determining the quality of a listing or ad.
This ratio can be useful when determining whether the messaging matches what the consumer is searching for, and if it resonates with them. A higher click-through-rate means more engagement, which generally leads to more quality conversions.
On social media, the clickthrough rate is the percentage of people that see your post who click on it. What counts as a click and what counts as ‘seeing your post’ vary by social network. On Facebook, CTR is equal to (link clicks / post impressions) x 100%.

💸Performance Marketing
🎯Digital Marketing
🧲Inbound Marketing
📊Analytics

A form through which you collect information about your site visitor. Conversion forms convert traffic into leads. Collecting contact information helps you follow up with these leads.

🎯Digital Marketing
📊Analytics
🧭Website

refers to the sequence of events on your website that helps to capture leads.
Most of the time, a conversion path will consist of a call-to-action that leads to a landing page with some sort form the reader has to fill out.
This form is also known as a lead capture form because the consumer will have to fill it out with relevant info such as an email address. In exchange for this new information, you provide them with some sort of content in return. This way, you generate a new lead, and the reader gets the information that they have been searching for.

🎯Digital Marketing
📊Analytics
🧭Website

The rate at which visitors to a website complete the predefined goal. It is calculated by dividing the number of goal achievements by the total number of visitors. For example, if 100 people visit a website and 10 of them complete the conversion goal (like filling out a contact form) then the conversion rate is 10%.

In social media terminology, conversion rate is the percentage of users who see your post or ad who then take a specified action. That action is called a conversion, and it could mean purchasing an item, signing up for a newsletter, downloading an ebook, or a variety of other acts.

💡Marketing 101
🎯Digital Marketing
🧭Website
📊Analytics

is the process by which you improve the techniques you use to try to convert visitors into leads. Some elements of the optimization include looking at keyword optimization, reassessing design techniques, and rewriting of some content. CRO can be applied to any part of your site and even your social media posts.

It's the process of increasing the campaign goal actions of website visitors, such as filling out a form, purchasing products or whatever your marketing campaign goal is. This process involves understanding how users move through your site, what actions they take, and what may stop them from completing your campaign goals.

Conversion rate optimization combines psychology with marketing and web design in order to influence the behavior of the web page visitor. CRO uses a type of testing called “A/B split testing” to determine which version of a page (version A or version B) is more successful.

💡Marketing 101
🎯Digital Marketing
🧭Website
📊Analytics

Allows one to track a user’s actions after viewing or engaging with an ad with the help of an offsite pixel, optimize for & track specific types of conversions (checkouts, registrations, leads, key page views, adds to cart & other website conversions).

🤖Programming
📊Analytics
🧭Website

A small item of data sent from a website, that is stored on the user’s device. Cookies help the user’s device remember useful data like items in a shopping cart, which pages have already been visited or form field information. The purpose of a cookie is to keep track of where the user is and help create customized web pages or save login

💡Marketing 101
🎯Digital Marketing
📊Analytics

the cost of winning a customer to purchase a product or service.
In other words, it's how much you have spent on trying to acquire more customers in a certain period, and divide that by the number of customers acquired during that period.

📊Analytics
🌍What is
💡Marketing 101

A measure of the average customer's revenue generated over their entire relationship with a company.
It's a projection of the possible net profit that can be gained from a future relationship with a consumer.

To calculate the customer lifetime value of a consumer, the simplest formula for measuring customer lifetime value is the average order total multiplied by the average number of purchases in a year multiplied by average retention time in years.

In other words, multiply the average amount of monthly transactions, by the average order value, and multiply that value by the average customer lifespan in months, and then finally multiply that value by your company’s average gross margin.